Your Membership Matters

Explore the benefits of membership in TAFP and AAFP.

TAFP local chapters

The Texas Academy of Family Physicians is the statewide organization dedicated to uniting the family doctors of Texas through advocacy, education, and member services. TAFP has 33 local chapters and is a chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians.

Some local chapters meet regularly and hold events. For more information on your local chapter’s activities, use the contact list below. If your chapter doesn’t have a contact person and you’d like more information on establishing a local chapter presence, contact TAFP’s Juleah Williams at

Abilene Chapter

Robert Hogue, MD, President

Counties: Baylor, Brown, Callahan, Coleman, Comanche, Eastland, Fisher, Haskell, Jones, Knox, Mills, Shackelford, Stephens, Taylor, Throckmorton

Alamo Chapter

Richel Avery, MD, President
Samantha Montalvo, staff contact

Meets the fourth Tuesday of each month except July, November, December, and holidays

Counties: Atascosa, Bandera, Bexar, Frio, Guadalupe, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, La Salle, Medina, Wilson

Brazoria County Chapter

County: Brazoria

Brazos Valley Chapter

Counties: Brazos, Burleson, Grimes, Leon, Milam, Robertson, Washington

Central Texas Chapter

Tim Martindale, MD, President

Holds an annual meeting and when need arises

Counties: Bell, Bosque, Coryell, Falls, Freestone, Hamilton, Hill, Limestone, McLennan, Navarro

Colorado Valley Chapter

Jorge Duchicela, MD, President

Counties: Austin, Colorado, Fayette, Fort Bend, Matagorda, Waller, Wharton

Dallas Chapter

Robert Contreras, MD, President
Cathy Day, executive director
(214) 606-4120

Holds meetings on the second Tuesday of each month

Counties: Dallas, Ellis, Kaufman, Rockwall

East Texas Chapter

Counties: Angelina, Gregg, Nacogdoches, Panola, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, Shelby

El Paso Chapter

Counties: El Paso, Hudspeth

Galveston Chapter

Hanan Hussein, MD, President

Holds meetings the first Tuesday of each month

County: Galveston

Gulf Coast Chapter

Counties: Aransas, Bee, Brooks, Duval, Jim Wells, Kenedy, Kleberg, Live Oak, McMullen, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio

Harris County Chapter

Rashmi Rode, MD, President
(713) 467-3173

Meets the second Wednesday of each month September through May; selected meetings approved for AAFP Prescribed CME credit

Counties: Chambers, Harris, Liberty

Heart of Texas Chapter

Katharina Hathaway, MD
Karen Smith, MD
Sarah Pollock, MPA

Holds meetings when need arises

Counties: Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Gillespie, Hays, Lampasas, Lee, Llano, San Saba, Travis, Williamson

Henderson County Chapter

County: Henderson

Hill Country Chapter

Madison Lowry, MD, President

County: Comal

Midwest Texas Chapter

Counties: Andrews, Crane, Ector, Glasscock, Martin, Midland, Upton

North Texas Chapter

Counties: Archer, Clay, Foard, Hardeman, Jack, Montague, Wichita, Wilbarger, Young

Northeast Texas Chapter

Counties: Bowie, Camp, Cass, Franklin, Harrison, Marion, Morris, Red River, Titus, Upshur

Northwoods Chapter

Jessica Glick, DO

County: Montgomery

Panhandle Chapter

Counties: Armstrong, Briscoe, Carson, Castro, Childress, Collingsworth, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Donlay, Donley, Gray, Hall, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Moore, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, Swisher, Wheeler

Permian Basin Chapter

Counties: Brewster, Culberson, Jeff Davis, Loving, Pecos, Presidio, Reeves, Terrell, Ward, Winkler

Red River Chapter

Counties: Collin, Cooke, Delta, Denton, Fannin, Grayson, Hopkins, Hunt, Lamar, Rains

Rose Chapter

Counties: Anderson, Cherokee, Houston, Smith, Van Zandt, Wood

Sam Houston Chapter

Counties: Madison, Polk, San Jacinto, Trinity, Walker

Seven Flags Chapter

Counties: Zapata, Webb, Jim Hogg

South Plains Chapter

Mike Ragain, MD, President

Counties: Bailey, Borden, Cochran, Cottle, Crosby, Dawson, Dickens, Floyd, Gaines, Garza, Hale, Hockley, Kent, King, Lamb, Lubbock, Lynn, Motley, Scurry, Stonewall, Terry, Yoakum

South Texas Chapter

Counties: Calhoun, DeWitt, Goliad, Gonzales, Jackson, Lavaca, Victoria

Southeast Texas Chapter

Counties: Hardin, Jasper, Jefferson, Newton, Orange, Tyler

Southwest Texas Chapter

Counties: Dimmit, Edwards, Kinney, Maverick, Real, Uvalde, Val Verde, Zavala

Tarrant County Chapter

Triwanna Fisher-Wikoff, MD, President
Beth Fischer, staff contact
(817) 992-3464

Holds monthly educational dinners

County: Tarrant

Three Rivers Chapter

Mark C. Eidson, MD, President

Counties: Erath, Hood, Johnson, Palo Pinto, Parker, Somervell, Wise

Valley Chapter

Javier “Jake” Margo Jr., MD, President

Holds meetings when need arises

Counties: Cameron, Hidalgo, Starr, Willacy

West Texas Chapter

Counties: Coke, Concho, Crockett, Howard, Irion, Kimble, Mason, McCulloch, Menard, Mitchell, Nolan, Reagan, Runnells, Runnels, Schleicher, Sutton, Tom Green, Sterling