Texas Family Physician - Vol. 64 No. 1, Winter 2013

Tags: texas family physician, physician of the year, bartos, american medical student association, 2012, van winkle, aafp, public health, tar wars, huang, billings, elliott, willnauer, boehm, enriquez


Meet TAFP’s Physician of the Year:
Justin Bartos III, M.D.

Currently practicing at the David Pillow Senior Clinic and the Medical Clinic of North Texas in North Richland Hills simultaneously, 2012-2013 Physician of the Year Justin Bartos III, M.D., is revered by patients, nurses, and fellow physicians alike. The former TAFP president is a passionate spokesman for the specialty of family medicine.
By Kate Alfano

Primary care makes progress in the mission city
Medical students from around the country learn the importance of primary care from family medicine champions at a recent American Medical Student Association conference held at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio School of Medicine.
By Samantha White

A look back at 2012
The year of the dragon was great for TAFP and its members.

Lloyd Van Winkle, M.D., wins bid for AAFP Board of Directors
TAFP’s 2011-2012 Family Physician of the Year continues the tradition of great Texas leadership at the national level.

Public health
Tar Wars turns 25.

Member news
Huang receives AAFP Public Health Award
Alpine family doctor appointed to national advisory council
TAFP members join AAFP commissions
Brenham doc wins EMS award
TAFP member named Catholic Doctor of the Year