Mabry completes term as speaker of the AAFP Congress of Delegates

Tags: mabry, congress of delegates, family physician, members

Mabry completes term as speaker of the AAFP Congress of Delegates

Leah Raye Mabry, M.D., R.Ph., of San Antonio, completed her third and final term as speaker of the AAFP Congress of Delegates at the 2011 Congress of Delegates meeting in Orlando, Fla., in September. As speaker, she ensured the proper scheduling and smooth flow of business coming before the Congress, appointed members to all reference and special committees, assigned reports and resolutions to reference committees for review, and oversaw the election of Academy officers and directors.

In her address, Mabry fittingly quoted the parliamentary authority, the Standard Code: “Parliamentary law is the procedural safeguard that protects the individual in the exercise of the rights of free speech, free assembly, and the freedom to unite in organizations for the achievement of common aims.”

With this, she stressed the importance of her office and its strong tradition. “Through the right of freedom and fair debate, the right of the majority to decide, and the right of the minority to protest and be protected, your speakers will be here to represent you and our membership.”

Mabry previously served as chief of staff and president of the medical board at the Christus Santa Rosa City Center Hospital and as a faculty member at the Christus Santa Rosa Family Medicine Residency Program in San Antonio. Semi-retired, she still provides acute care through Texas MedClinic in San Antonio and also continues to serve as a clinical professor with the University of Texas Health Science Center Department of Family Medicine in San Antonio.

Mabry has been a member of AAFP and TAFP and since 1985. She was elected vice speaker in 2005 and elected to her first term as speaker in 2008. Throughout the past decade, Mabry has represented AAFP and TAFP on numerous commissions, committees, and task forces. She served as TAFP president from 1997-1998.