Harris County Chapter names Physicians of the Year and Physician Emeritus

Tags: johnson, harris county, local chapter, rogers, corboy, members

Harris County Chapter names
Physicians of the Year and Physician Emeritus

The Harris County Chapter of TAFP named the recipients of its top honors at their Scientific Dinner meeting in May. Physician Emeritus is Glen Johnson, M.D., and the Physicians of the Year are husband and wife John C. Rogers, M.D., M.P.H., M.Ed, and Jane E. Corboy, M.D.

Physician Emeritus Johnson was named TAFP’s 2009 Physician Emeritus for his longtime service and commitment to the specialty. A former TAFP president and AAFP vice president, Johnson has over 28 years of health care experience in clinical practice, academic medicine and medical education, managed health care, and medical group management.

Johnson was awarded his medical degree by Howard University in Washington, D.C., and completed a family medicine residency at Howard University affiliated hospitals. Fresh out of residency in 1975, he started a family medicine practice in east Austin and began volunteering as clinical faculty at the newly opened family medicine residency program at Brackenridge Hospital, later serving as interim residency director.

Throughout his career he has passionately advocated for vulnerable populations like Medicaid, CHIP, the uninsured, and the underinsured.

Physician of the Year Rogers currently serves as professor and executive vice chair of family and community medicine at Baylor College of Medicine where he has been on faculty since 1987. He is a past-president of the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine and has held faculty positions at the University of Washington School of Medicine, the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey – Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, and Rutgers.

Rogers was awarded his medical degree by the University of Iowa Medical School in Iowa City and completed a family medicine residency at the University of North Carolina School of Medicine. He completed a Robert Wood Johnson Family Medicine Fellowship, a master’s in public health at the University of Washington, and a master’s in education at the University of Houston.

Physician of the Year Corboy is an associate professor and vice chair for education in the BCM Department of Family and Community Medicine where she has been on faculty since 1991. She also serves as director of the newly revitalized residency training track at Baylor Family Medicine, which accepted its first group of residents in July 2010. She was director of the residency program from 1997-2007.

Corboy was awarded her medical degree by BCM and completed a family medicine residency at the University of Kansas in Kansas City. After residency, she fulfilled a National Health Service Corps scholarship, practicing full-scope family medicine at Nuestra Clinica del Valle, a community health center in the Rio Grande Valley. She served as the center medical director there in her last two years.

Rogers and Corboy both hold Certificates of Added Qualification in Sports Medicine, are certified in Advanced Wilderness Life Support, and are faculty sponsors of BCM’s Wilderness Medical Society student chapter. They have completed 27 marathons, and have backpacked, climbed, and rafted the trails, mountains, and rivers of four continents.