Goertz, Mabry make bids for AAFP offices

Tags: mabry, aafp, congress of delegates, speaker, goertz

Goertz, Mabry make bids for AAFP offices

Roland Goertz, M.D., M.B.A., of Waco has hit the campaign trail in a bid to become AAFP President-elect. Endorsing the “true statesman for the specialty,” TAFP has worked with him to launch his official campaign website, www.tafp.org/goertz, which includes a series of video interviews.

Goertz answers seven questions in the videos, each about two or three minutes, in which he outlines his vision for the office. He names the three most critical issues facing family medicine, voices a call to action during a critical time for health care in America, presents the qualities and qualifications he could bring to the office of AAFP president, describes his leadership style, advises the modern family physician on the business of medicine, addresses the future of family medicine, and delineates AAFP’s role in improving the nation’s health care quality.

Goertz is the CEO of the three foundations that oversee all operations of the Waco Family Health Center, and also serves as chair of the Family Medicine Residency Advisory Committee of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Goertz has served on the AAFP Board of Directors since 2006 and has served in various leadership roles within TAFP and AAFP, including TAFP president in 1995. TAFP encourages you to visit Goertz’s campaign Web site to learn more about why he should be the next AAFP President-elect.

Leah Raye Mabry, M.D., R.Ph., of San Antonio will run for a second term as AAFP Speaker of the Congress of Delegates. The Speaker presides over the Congress, which is the Academy’s policy-making body.

A longtime leader on the state and national levels, Mabry served as AAFP Speaker in 2008-2009, as AAFP Vice Speaker from 2005-2008, is a TAFP Past President, a past recipient of the TAFP Family Physician of the Year award, and served three consecutive two-year terms as one of TAFP’s delegates to AAFP.

Mabry currently serves as chief of staff at CHRISTUS Santa Rosa City Center Hospital in San Antonio and is on faculty at the center’s family medicine residency program. She is also a clinical associate professor in the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio and a fellow at the Faculty Development Center in Waco.

Both elections will take place during the AAFP Congress of Delegates in Boston this October.