Member News Q4-2019

Member News

Dallas FP wins AAFP teaching award
Chrisette Dharma, MD, won this year’s AAFP Exemplary Teaching Award in the volunteer category. Dharma precepts medical students at her practice, Southwest Family Medicine Associates Clinic in Dallas as part of the Texas Family Medicine Preceptorship Program and as a UT Southwestern Clinical Assistant Professor.

In a letter announcing the award, the AAFP Board of Directors lauded Dr. Dharma’s commitment to education and dedication to shaping the next generation of family physicians. “You have also personally devoted countless hours to teaching and training medical students and nurse practitioner students in your practice, and you are known as a natural educator who can use almost any situation as an opportunity for instruction.”

TAFP President to chair AAFP committee
Rebecca Hart, MD, has been tapped to chair the AAFP Commission on Continuing Professional Development. She has served on the commission for the past four years. This fall, Hart is finishing her term as TAFP President and at the conclusion of this year’s Annual Session and Primary Care Summit, she will become chair of the TAFP Board of Directors.