Member News - Winter 2018

Tags: Catalyst Health Network, Linda Siy, Mary Nguyen, Mark Nadeau, Salud Sin Fronteras

Member News

Catalyst Health Network earns URAC accreditation in clinical integration
Plano-based catalyst health network has earned URAC accreditation in clinical integration. URAC is a leading independent accreditation body dedicated to helping health care organizations like Catalyst Health Network demonstrate a comprehensive commitment to quality care, improved processes, and better patient outcomes.

“We are truly honored to not only receive the distinguished URAC accreditation in Clinical Integration, but also achieve a perfect score in the review process,” said TAFP member Christopher Crow, MD, president of Catalyst Health Network, in a December 2017 press statement. “We are extremely proud of our team and network for their dedication. This accreditation is a reflection of our commitment to transform the health and well-being of the communities we serve through the power of relationships.”

Catalyst Health Network is only the fifth in the nation to earn URAC’s full accreditation in clinical integration. Catalyst is a clinically integrated network of primary care physicians with 515 primary care providers, 140 office locations, 750,000 patients, and 70 care team members. The network is comprised solely of physician members and managed by StratiFi Health, a physician services and population health organization.

According to the statement: “This accreditation allows Catalyst Health Network to continue striving to make a difference in patients’ lives, and the communities in which they serve by providing a path to reduced cost, improved experience and outcomes while building trust throughout the provider network.”

“Accepting the responsibilities of becoming a clinically integrated organization, Catalyst Health Network shows it is committed to quality, coordinated services and care,” said URAC President and CEO Kylanne Green. “URAC is delighted to help Catalyst Health Network and others by providing them with an accreditation program that validates the quality of their services and helps them avoid regulatory concerns.”

Siy named TCMS President
The current TAFP Foundation President, Linda Siy, MD, has been installed as president of the Tarrant County Medical Society. Siy is also a past TAFP president and has served as chair of the TAFP Political Action Committee Board of Trustees.

Nguyen appointed to AAFP commission
Mary Nguyen, MD, was appointment to AAFP’s Commission on Membership and Member Services. She will serve a four-year term. She is TAFP’s current parliamentarian, she is a former president of the Alamo chapter of TAFP, and she has held the position of co-convener at AAFP’s National Conference of Constituency Leaders. Nguyen practices at Medina Valley Family Practice in Castroville where she frequently teaches and mentors medical students.

Nadeau joins ACGME review committee
Mark Nadeau, MD, of San Antonio, was appointed to the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education’s Review Committee for Family Medicine. Nadeau is faculty at the University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio and is a veteran of the U.S. Air Force.

Student-run clinic receives AAFP Foundation grant
Salud Sin Fronteras, a student run free clinic in El Paso, was awarded over $24,000 from the AAFP Foundation. Charmaine Martin, MD, leads the clinic’s Longitudinal Primary Care Track, which is designed to provide valuable family medicine experience to medical students and expose them to the medically underserved community of migrant workers.