Dallas physician receives national teaching award

Tags: perry, aafp, medical education, award

Dallas physician receives national teaching award

Tamika L. Perry, D.O., M.P.H., of Dallas is among a select group of physicians honored by the AAFP Foundation for her commitment to education in the field of family medicine. Perry was selected to receive a 2011 Pfizer Teacher Development Award based on her scholastic achievement, leadership qualities, and dedication to family medicine.

Perry says teaching keeps her “on her toes,” as she studies the latest in clinical knowledge before she quizzes the residents. “This award solidifies my commitment to teach family medicine residents to deliver quality, medically sound care to underserved populations. I am truly honored to be this year’s recipient.”

She is currently a clinical assistant professor, volunteer faculty, at the Methodist Health System Family Medicine Residency, where she will be recognized for this achievement during a ceremony held by her teaching center. She is the co-founder of Red Bird Community Clinic, a family medicine clinic in a designated health professional shortage area.

Perry earned her medical degree from Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine and is a graduate of the Methodist Health Systems Family Medicine Residency Program where she served as chief resident. She received her Master of Public Health degree in Health Management and Policy from the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth.

“Pfizer Teacher Development Awards spotlight the best of our profession: those in active practice who give of themselves to teach, mentor, and inspire residents and students,” said AAFP Foundation President Richard G. Roberts, M.D., J.D., in a press release. “Tomorrow’s family doctors and their patients will be better because of their efforts. My congratulations to Dr. Perry and my thanks to Pfizer for preserving the noble tradition of the clinician-teacher.”

In addition to her membership in TAFP and AAFP, Perry is also a member of the American Osteopathic Association, American College of Osteopathic Physicians, Texas Osteopathic Medical Association, American Medical Association, Texas Medical Association, and Dallas County Medical Society.