Mabry elected to third term as AAFP Speaker

Tags: news, texas family physician, aafp, leadership, mabry

Mabry elected to third term as AAFP Speaker

Leah Raye Mabry, M.D., R.Ph., of San Antonio, was elected to a third term as Speaker of the AAFP Congress of Delegates when the Congress gathered in Denver in September. The Speaker presides over the Congress, the Academy’s policymaking body. As an AAFP board member, Mabry will advocate on behalf of family physicians and patients nationwide to inspire positive change in the U.S. health care system.

(from left) TAFP Delegate Lloyd Van Winkle, M.D., AAFP Speaker and TAFP past president Leah Raye Mabry, M.D., TAFP immediate past president, Kaparaboyna Ashok Kumar, M.D., and Paul Davis, M.D., of Dillingham, Alaska, enjoy the festivities at the hostpitality suite event during the 2010 AAFP Congress of Delegates conference.

A longtime leader on the state and national levels, Mabry served as AAFP Speaker in 2008-2009 and 2009-2010, as AAFP Vice Speaker from 2005-2008, is a TAFP past president, a past recipient of the TAFP Family Physician of the Year award and the TAFP Foundation Philanthropist of the Year award, and served three consecutive two-year terms as one of TAFP’s delegates to AAFP.

Mabry is immediate past chief of staff and president of the medical board at Christus Santa Rosa City Center Hospital, and a faculty member at the CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Family Medicine Residency Program, San Antonio. She also serves as a clinical professor with the University of Texas Health Science Center, Department of Family Medicine, San Antonio.

Throughout the past decade, Mabry has represented the AAFP on numerous commissions, committees, and task forces, including AAFP’s Task Force on Health Care Coverage for All; Strike Force on Liability Reform; Task Force on Governance; and the commissions on Finance, Public Health, and Clinical Policies and Research. She also was appointed as a member consultant to the U.S. Pharmacopia.

Mabry is a member of, and has served on numerous committees for, the American Medical Association, Texas Medical Association, National Association of Parliamentarians, Texas State Association of Parliamentarians and the San Antonio Unit of the National Association of Parliamentarians. She has served on the board of directors and public relations committee of the American Institute of Parliamentarians. She is a district reviewer for the Texas State Board of Medical Examiners, appointed to this position by Texas governors George W. Bush and Rick Perry.

She previously served on the Texas Department of Health Medical Education Subcommittee and the Texas Department of Health Tobacco Advisory Committee. She was a consultant to the National Institute of Health Center for Disease Control, Federal Drug Administration Forum: Development of Public Health Plan for Antibiotic Resistance and a member of the editorial board of the Journal of Family Practice.

Mabry earned her bachelor’s degree in pharmacy at the University of Texas at Austin, and her medical degree at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. She completed her internship and residency at the Medical Center Hospital, San Antonio, and later completed her fellowship in teaching at the Faculty Development Center in Waco, Texas.