Nominate yourself or a colleague for one of TAFP’s 2012 awards

Tags: tafp, awards, nomination

Nominate yourself or a colleague
for one of TAFP’s 2013 awards

posted 01.10.13

It’s time again to submit nominations for TAFP’s top awards: Physician of the Year, Physician Emeritus, the Public Health Award, the Exemplary Teaching Awards, and the Special Constituency Leadership Award. All awards will be presented at the 64th Annual Session and Scientific Assembly in Fort Worth on Saturday, Aug. 3, 2013. Winners need not attend Annual Session to receive an award.

Most nominations simply require the nominator to submit a brief nomination form, a letter of support, the nominee’s curriculum vitae, and a current photo of the nominee. Consider nominating yourself or an outstanding colleague for one of the awards below.

Physician of the Year
The Physician of the Year Award is given to an outstanding family physician who provides the community with compassionate and caring medical service on a continuing basis, makes a positive difference in his or her community, and acts as a credible and invaluable role model to others.

Physician Emeritus
The Physician Emeritus Award honors a physician who has contributed long and meritorious service to family medicine.

Exemplary Teaching Award
The Exemplary Teaching Award is given to physicians recognized for exemplary teaching skills by medical students, residents, or peers, or to physicians who developed and implemented innovative new teaching models or programs. Nominations can be made in the full-time, part-time, or volunteer-faculty categories.

Public Health Award
The TAFP Public Health Award is modeled after the AAFP Public Health Award. Nominees may be physicians working in public health or going beyond their patient community to have an impact on public health, or non-physicians who have an extraordinary impact on the public health of Texas.

Special Constituency Leadership Award
The Special Constituency Leadership Award is given to an outstanding TAFP-member family physician who is or has been a strong advocate for a specific special constituency and/or, as a member of a specific constituency, has served as an outstanding leader in some capacity.

All nominations must be submitted by Friday, Feb. 8. Read more about each award and access the nomination forms and requirements at on the Annual Awards page of Send completed nominations to Kathy McCarthy at or to 12012 Technology Blvd., Ste. 200, Austin, TX 78727.