TAFP seeks applicants for 2012 awards, NCSC delegates and scholarships, and ALF scholarships

Tags: aafp, tafp, ncsc, alf, leadership, scholarship

TAFP seeks applicants for 2012 awards, NCSC delegates and scholarships, and ALF scholarships

posted 01.24.12

2012 TAFP awards

It’s time again to submit nominations for TAFP’s top awards. Most nominations simply require the nominator to submit an informational nomination form, a letter of support, the nominee’s curriculum vitae, and a current photo of the nominee. Consider nominating yourself or an outstanding colleague for one of the awards below.

Physician of the Year
The Physician of the Year award is given to an outstanding family physician who provides the community with compassionate and caring medical service on a continuing basis, makes a positive difference in his or her community, and acts as a credible and invaluable role model to others.

Physician Emeritus
The Physician Emeritus award honors a physician who has contributed long and meritorious service to family medicine.

The Exemplary Teaching Award
The Exemplary Teaching Award is given to physicians recognized for exemplary teaching skills by medical students, residents, or peers, or to physicians who developed and implemented innovative new teaching models or programs. Please note that nominations can be made in the full-time, part-time or volunteer-faculty categories.

The Public Health Award
The TAFP Public Health Award is modeled after the AAFP Public Health Award. Nominees may be physicians working in public health or going beyond their patient community to have an impact on public health, or non-physicians who have an extraordinary impact on the public health of Texans.

The Special Constituency Leadership Award
TAFP’s newest award, the Special Constituency Leadership Award, is given to an outstanding TAFP-member family physician who is or has been a strong advocate for a specific special constituency and/or, as a member of a specific constituency, has served as an outstanding leader in some capacity.

All nomination packets are due Feb. 10, 2012 and awards will be presented at the 63rd Annual Session and Scientific Assembly in Austin on Saturday, July 14, 2012, and winners need not attend Annual Session to receive an award. Read more about each award and access the nomination materials at on the Annual Awards page of www.tafp.org. Send completed nominations to Kathy McCarthy at kmccarthy@tafp.org or 12012 Technology Blvd., Ste. 200, Austin, TX 78727.

Delegate spots and scholarships for AAFP’s NCSC and ALF conferences

TAFP is looking for the 2012 delegation to the AAFP National Conference of Special Constituencies and Annual Leadership Forum, as well as applicants for other Academy scholarships to these conferences.

Each year, AAFP holds the NCSC and ALF in Kansas City, Mo. NCSC representatives and ALF attendees from across the nation gather to discuss various issues, suggest policies and programs to AAFP, and receive leadership training. This year's conferences will be held May 3-5.

TAFP opportunities for NCSC

Spots are available for five TAFP members to represent the five special constituencies: new physicians, women, minorities, international medical graduates, and GLBT. TAFP reimburses up to $1,000 for expenses for each delegate. In addition, TAFP created two additional opportunities to attend NCSC with funding. These scholarships will be awarded to one third-year resident and one minority physician.

If you are interested in being considered for one of the delegate spots, please send a current CV and/or a statement of intent to Jonathan Nelson at jnelson@tafp.org by Feb. 10, 2012. Be sure to let him know which constituency or constituencies you would like to represent.

If you are interested in applying for the third-year resident scholarship or the minority physician scholarship, download the applications (below) and send completed application forms to Kathy McCarthy at kmccarthy@tafp.org by Feb. 10, 2012.

> Third-year Resident
> Minority Physician

TAFP scholarships to ALF

To assist in the development of future leaders, the Section on Leadership Development awards two $1,000 scholarships to first-time attendees of ALF. If you are interested in applying for one of the two scholarships, download the TAFP application (below) and send it to Kathy McCarthy at kmccarthy@tafp.org by Feb. 10, 2012.

> Future Leader Scholarship

For more information these conferences and to register, go to the ALF and NCSC section of the AAFP website. AAFP members who register by March 21 will save $50 on the registration fee. Student and resident fees do not change.