TAFP seeks applicants for NCSC and ALF, 2011 awards

Tags: aafp, ncsc, alf, awards, leadership, delegate, nomination, scholarship

TAFP seeks applicants for NCSC and ALF, 2011 awards

posted 01.19.11

Delegate spots and scholarships for AAFP’s NCSC and ALF conferences

TAFP is looking for the 2011 delegation to the National Conference of Special Constituencies and Annual Leadership Forum, as well as for applicants for other Academy scholarships to these conferences.

Each year, AAFP holds NCSC and ALF in Kansas City, Mo. NCSC representatives and ALF attendees from across the nation gather to discuss various issues, suggest policies and programs to AAFP, and receive leadership training. This year’s NCSC will be held May 5-7 and ALF will be held May 6-7.

TAFP opportunities for NCSC

Slots are available for five TAFP members to represent the five special constituencies: new physicians, women, minorities, international medical graduates, and GLBT. TAFP reimburses up to $1,000 for expenses for each delegate. In addition, TAFP created two additional opportunities to attend NCSC with funding. These scholarships will be awarded to one third-year resident and one minority physician.

If you are interested in being considered for one of the delegate slots, please send a current CV and/or a statement of intent to Jonathan Nelson at jnelson@tafp.org by Feb. 11. Be sure to let him know which constituency or constituencies you would like to represent.

If you are interested in applying for the Third-year Resident Scholarship or the Minority Scholarship, download the applications (below) and send completed application forms to Kathy McCarthy at kmccarthy@tafp.org by Feb. 11.

> Third-year Resident
> Minority Physician

TAFP scholarships to ALF

To assist in the development of future leaders, the TAFP Section on Leadership Development awards two $1,000 scholarships to first-time attendees of ALF. If you are interested in applying for one of the two scholarships, download the application (below) and send it to Kathy McCarthy at kmccarthy@tafp.org by Feb. 11.

> ALF Scholarship Application

For more information these conferences and to register, go to the ALF section of the AAFP website or the NCSC section of the AAFP website. Register by March 23 and save $50 on the registration fee.

2011 TAFP awards

It’s time again to submit nominations for TAFP’s top awards: Physician of the Year, Physician Emeritus, Public Health award, Exemplary Teaching awards, and the Special Constituency Leadership Award. All of the awards will be presented at the 62nd Annual Session and Scientific Assembly in Dallas on Saturday, July 30. Winners need not attend Annual Session to receive an award.

Consider nominating yourself or an outstanding colleague for one of the awards below.

Physician of the Year
The Physician of the Year award is given to an outstanding family physician who provides the community with compassionate and caring medical service on a continuing basis, makes a positive difference in his or her community, and acts as a credible and invaluable role model to others.

Physician Emeritus
The Physician Emeritus award honors a physician who has contributed long and meritorious service to family medicine.

Exemplary Teaching Award
The Exemplary Teaching Award is given to physicians recognized for exemplary teaching skills by medical students, residents or peers or to physicians who developed and implemented innovative new teaching models or programs. Please note that nominations can be made in the full-time, part-time, or volunteer-faculty categories.

Public Health Award
The TAFP Public Health Award is modeled after the AAFP Public Health. Nominees may be physicians working in public health or going beyond their patient community to have an impact on public health, or non-physicians who have an extraordinary impact on the public health of Texans.

Special Constituency Leadership Award
TAFP’s newest award, the Special Constituency Leadership Award, is given to an outstanding TAFP-member family physician who is or has been a strong advocate for a specific special constituency and/or, as a member of a specific constituency, has served as an outstanding leader in some capacity.

The deadline for all nomination packets has been extended to Feb. 25, 2011. Read more about each award and access the nomination materials at on the Annual Awards page of www.tafp.org. Send completed nominations to Kathy McCarthy at kmccarthy@tafp.org or 12012 Technology Blvd., Ste. 200, Austin, TX 78727.