

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT:

Samantha White Texas Academy of Family Physicians (512) 329-8666 ext. 116 swhite@tafp.org

TAFP installs 2022-2023 officers

GRAPEVINE, TEXAS — The Texas Academy of Family Physicians installed the 2022-2023 officers during the 2022 Annual Session and Primary Care Summit in Grapevine on Oct. 29.

• President – Emily Briggs, MD, MPH

Dr. Briggs is the founder of Briggs Family Medicine, where she practices full-spectrum family medicine and obstetrics, and she is the medical director for two New Braunfels school districts. She has served as the new physician board member for both TAFP and AAFP. She has served as president of her county medical society and the Alamo Chapter of TAFP. She received her Bachelor of Science from Texas A&M University, her master's in public health from the University of Houston School of Public Health, and her medical degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston. She completed residency at Christus Santa Rosa in San Antonio.

President-Elect – Terrance Hines, MD, FAAFP

Dr. Hines is the executive director and chief medical officer for University Health Services at the University of Texas at Austin. His practice emphasizes student health, gender care, and HIV prevention. He completed undergraduate and medical school at Texas A&M University and residency at John Peter Smith Hospital in Fort Worth. He was recently recognized with the Austin Under 40 Award in Medicine and Health Care as well as the TAFP Special Constituency Leadership Award.

Treasurer - Lindsay Botsford, MD, MBA

Dr. Botsford is the medical director for Iora Primary Care, where she leads their Houston practices and cares for older adults on Medicare in a value-based model. Her passions include health care transformation, quality, leadership development, and increasing joy in practice for the health care team. She is a graduate of Rice University and Baylor College of Medicine, and completed residency training at Baylor College of Medicine's Kelsey-Seybold Clinic and her MBA at the University of Houston.

Parliamentarian - Ike Okwuwa, MD, FAAFP

Dr. Okwuwa serves as residency program director for the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center of the Permian Basin and is chairman of the board of directors for Permian Basin Health Network, a physician-hospital organization. He graduated from the University of Benin Medical School in Benin City, Edo State, Nigeria, and completed residency training at TTUHSCPB. He previously served as the new physician member and is currently an at-large member on TAFP's Board of Directors.

Immediate Past President - Mary Nguyen, MD

Dr. Nguyen shares a family medicine practice with her husband in the rural town of Castroville and counts special needs advocacy as near and dear to her heart. She attended medical school at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston and completed residency at Christus Santa Rosa in San Antonio. She served as a Member Constituency Delegate to the AAFP Congress of Delegates and is active in the Alamo Chapter of TAFP.

The Texas Academy of Family Physicians is the premier membership organization dedicated to uniting the family doctors of Texas through advocacy, education, and member services, and empowering them to provide a medical home for patients of all ages. It has 32 local chapters and is a chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians. Visit www.tafp.org for more information.