Dedication and hard work of our preceptors keep the preceptorship program strong

Tags: Texas Family Medicine Preceptorship Program, preceptor, preceptorship

By Perdita Henry

When the Legislature reinstated funding for the Texas Family Medicine Preceptorship Program last year, you might have heard a whoop of joy from the TAFP headquarters in North Austin. The program — in which mostly first and second-year medical students spend two to four weeks seeing patients with a family doctor — presents an excellent chance to showcase the best aspects of a career in family medicine.

While state support returning to the program was welcomed news, what makes the Preceptorship Program great is the dedication of our fantastic preceptors. Those medical students who go through the program and go on to become family physicians carry the memory of their preceptor as their own image of a real family doctor, and many count their preceptor among their most revered mentors.

This past summer, 63 students rotated with 55 preceptors — some preceptors hosted more than one student. This means 63 students had the opportunity to get out of the classroom and into exam rooms across the state of Texas. Preceptors are working to make sure medical students from across the state experience what life is like as family doc.

To all of our preceptors we say thank you for all of your hard work and dedication to making sure that the future of family medicine remains bright.

Interested in becoming a preceptor and helping to shape the future of family medicine in Texas? Visit the TAFP Preceptor Portal to get started. We hope you add your name to this list soon!

2016 Preceptors in the Texas Family Medicine Preceptorship Program

Syed Ahsan, MD Eric Alford, MD
D. Crawford Allison, MD James Anderson, MD
Craig W. Barker, MD Jennifer Bhavsar, MD
Adrian Billings, MD Justin Bogwu, MD
Matthew Brimberry, MD Donna Canney, MD
Mark Chassay, MD Suparna Chhibber, MD
Leonides Cigarroa, MD Kevin Cunningham, MD
Chrisette Dharma, MD Stephanie Elmore, MD
Andres Enriquez, MD Al Faigin, DO
Emily Fernandez, MD Donald Freitag, MD
Lawrie Friedman, MD Christopher Haeckler, MD
John Hanna, MD Randall Hayes, DO
Hanan Hussein, MD Sorab Italia, DO
Rochelle Jacinto, MD Sapna V. Jaiswal, MD
K. Ashok Kumar, MD Patrice Latimer, MD
Gilbert Ledesma, M.D Cherrylene Lindgren, DO
Ron McDaniel, DO Adam Miner, MD
Jennifer Mitchell, MD Alyssa Molina, MD
Terrence Moore, MD Lekshmi Nair, MD
Sherri Onyiego, MD Carrie Paine, MD
Daniel Piazza, DO David Ramos, MD
Elise Y. Sadoun, MD Ryan Seals, MD
Chris Shanklin, MD Anupam Sidhu, MD
Albert Smith, MD Joel Solis, MD
Erica Swegler, MD Elliott Trotter, MD
Chad White, MD Perry Wolfe, MD
Donald Young, MD
CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Family Medicine Residency Program
Memorial Hermann Family Medicine Residency Program

No Comments

Add a Comment