Your TAFPPAC News update for the first week of May, 2018
The official newsletter of the Texas Academy of Family Physicians Political Action Committee
Looking forward to November

Greetings from Austin! Spring is here and that means we’re deep into the 2018 political season here in our beautiful state capital. As we anticipate the upcoming November election season and what it could mean for family medicine, here are a few things you need to know.

It was a good primary season for family medicine, but not everything is settled. The March 6 primary elections wrapped up with no clear winner in more than 30 races. Prepare for runoffs and remember that almost every statewide candidate is up for re-election from Congress to the Texas House of Representatives.

TAFPPAC was very active during the primaries and supported several candidates that went on to win races. Those winners include Charles Schwertner, MD, (R-Georgetown) Chairman of the Senate Health and Human Services Committee; Donna Campbell, MD, (R-New Braunsfels), J.D. Sheffield, MD, (R-Gatesville), and several other pro-family medicine members of the Legislature.

The TAFPPAC Board of Directors and other physician leaders met during the 2018 C. Frank Webber Lectureship and Interim Session to discuss PAC fundraising goals and plan engagement opportunities. Jake Margo, MD, TAFPPAC board member and treasure of TAFP, was all smiles after the meeting.

“Overall, we did very well last year, and we are happy to support all of our friends in family medicine in the upcoming elections,” Margo said. “We also have some really exciting things coming up from a donor standpoint, which we will be rolling out in the next year, so keep an eye out.”

Hey, check it out: Now you can donate online!
Make a Contribution →

Price tweets his thanks!
Chairman of the Public Health Committee, Four Price (R-Amarillo), shows his appreciation for TAFPPAC support.
Thank you, TAFPPAC donors
Thank you to all who donate to TAFPPAC! Don’t see your name here? Go ahead and push that big blue button above.

Lane Aiena, MD
Adanna Amechi-Obigwe, MD
Justin Bartos, MD, FAAFP
Joane Baumer, MD, FAAFP
Nat Baumer, MD
Stephen Benold, MD, FAAFP
Henry Boehm, Jr, MD, FAAFP
Lindsay Botsford, MD, MBA, CMQ, FAAFP
Emily Briggs, MD, MPH, FAAFP
Matthew Brimberry, MD
Chinglin Chan, MD, FAAFP
C Mark Chassay, MD, FAAFP
Maria Coimbra, MD
Antonio Falcon, MD, FAAFP
Troy Fiesinger, MD, FAAFP
Lewis  Foxhall, MD, FAAFP
Kelly Gabler, MD, FAAFP
Lisa Glenn, MD
Roland Goertz, MD, MBA, FAAFP
Thomas  Greer, MD, FAAFP
Ajay Gupta, MD
Natalia Gutierrez, MD
Lesca Hadley, MD, FAAFP
Suhaib Haq, MD, FAAFP
Rebecca Hart, MD, FAAFP
Clare Hawkins, MD, MSC, FAAFP
Farron Hunt, MD, FAAFP
Janet Hurley, MD
K Ashok Kumar, MD, FRCS, FAAFP
James Lackey, MD
C Timothy Lambert, MD, FAAFP
Don A Lawrence, DO
Eric Lee, MD
Leah Raye Mabry, MD, FAAFP
Javier Margo, MD, FAAFP
Alyssa Beth Molina, MD
Dale Moquist, MD, FAAFP
Maria Munoz, MD, FAAFP
Nancy Naghavi, DO
Mary Nguyen, MD, FAAFP
Uzoamaka Obinabo, MD
John Ray, MD
Katie Ray, MD
David Schneider, MD, FAAFP
Puja  Sehgal, MD
Dan Sepdham, MD, FAAFP
Amer Shakil, MD, MBA, FAAFP
Linda Siy, MD, FAAFP
Mary Anne Snyder, DO
Mary Spalding, MD, FAAFP
Joshua Splinter, MD
Dana Sprute, MD, MPH, FAAFP
Richard Stuntz, MD
Sheri  Talley, MD
Lloyd Van Winkle, MD, FAAFP
Andrew Weary, MD
Keith Wilkerson, MD
Walter Wilkerson, MD, FAAFP
Khalida Yasmin, MD
Richard Young, MD

View this email in your browser.
TAFPPAC News is an official news publication of the Texas Academy of Family Physicians, delivered by email and available online. You are receiving this email as a benefit of membership, not because you are subscribed to an electronic list. If you wish to no longer receive TAFPPAC News, unsubscribe here.
Copyright 2017, Texas Academy of Family Physicians
12012 Technology Boulevard, Suite 200 | Austin, Texas 78727
(512) 329-8666 |